Everyday A Sunday

Preparing for church this Easter morning, I listened to “He’s Alive” by DeAndre Patterson. It took me back to  when I was younger getting ready for church. Although the song came out much later after my time as a youth, it is a traditional gospel song performed by a large church choir with all the energy they could extend to deliver a message. These songs add to my Sunday which is first day of the week where I get to worship with a body of believers and give God praise.

I remember how I wanted everyday to be a Sunday. Even with the mad dash to get to church on time for Sunday School, sit in service all afternoon, go to the corner store to buy Chic-O-Sticks, and be back again for evening service; I truly enjoyed Sunday. Sunday was my day of peace and no worries. Sunday was my day to be away from the foolishness and woes of the week.  On Monday, it was back to reality of fighting the good fight of whatever it was for me at that time.

He's Alive

As I sat in church this Easter morning, I am thankful that God woke me up! I am appreciating that I have peace throughout the week simply because He’s Alive! I realize that everyday is a Sunday because everyday I remember the sacrifice made on the cross. It is a sacrifice made not only for me but for all of us! Grace be to God that no matter what it looks like on the outside, the battle is already won because of the ultimate sacrifice. He’s Alive!

Why not take that truth into everyday of the week? Let that be your peace to make everyday a Sunday.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

