Purposeful Scheduling

A typical week for me may sound exhausting. It includes working at a full time job, attending my daughter’s activities, planning events for my ministry, mentoring, volunteering,  writing, and church on Sunday. Then of course there are things to take  care of at home including household chores, home repairs, grocery shopping and car maintenance just to name a few. You are probably thinking what others have already said to me, “You do TOO  much!” Yet, I have actually learned to do only what I enjoy doing and what is necessary to maintain my home. It however wasn’t always this way.

There was a time I would be voluntold to help out with a project and I didn’t necessarily volunteer. There was a time when someone would convince me to help out because “we could really use your help.” What is the difference now?

Now, I participate only in things I am passionate about and that helps me feel fulfilled at the end of the day. If  I have any uneasiness or hesitation in immediately replying “yes” to an activity, then I need to say “no.”  As I continue to try to avoid having that overwhelming burned out feeling, I work towards what I call purposeful scheduling. This means I am making a conscious effort to not overschedule by looking at my planner for cluttered weeks and noticing when there is no breathing room for me to have some downtime. Then I ask myself the following questions:

  • Do I need to be in attendance?
  • Do I need to rest?
  • Do I have enough downtime?
  • Does this give me peace?
  • Is this what God would have for me to do? (entails prayer)

After doing this I have more comfort in knowing that I am doing only what I need to do at any given moment. The cover of my planner reminds me daily  to “Commit to the Lord whatever you do and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:3

If you feel like  you are doing too much consider purposeful scheduling. Lay before the Lord everything you do in prayer. What we do is never too much when God gives us the strength and guidance to do it.

 

purposeful-scheduling-photo-by-damika-davis

Purposeful Scheduling Photo By Damika Davis

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Purposeful Scheduling

Leave a comment